Marketing Blog


Masters of Marketing - Why Email Marketing and SEO are Better Together

Email marketing and SEO are each valuable and cost-effective methods for growing your agency’s visibility and engaging with consumers. However, these tactics are most effective when used together.

In today’s Masters of Marketing webinar, ITC SEO Coordinator Dylan Brooks and AgencyBuzz Coordinator Tim Glaze explained how to effectively combine email marketing and SEO into a comprehensive strategy that will help your agency get more targeted leads and close more sales.

We have a short summary below. You can also watch the recording here or review the slides below for more details.

SEO and Email Marketing: Different Purposes, Similar Goals

The presentation started with a look at the individual benefits of each tactic.

SEO is generally focused on making an insurance website discoverable to consumers actively searching for insurance services or expertise. Email marketing can provide consumers with information relevant to their individual needs.

Both tactics are most effective when they properly align with the goal of improving consumer experience.

SEO and Email Marketing Overlap Within the Marketing Funnel

Getting insurance coverage isn’t as instantaneous as buying a pair of jeans online. The intricacies of the insurance industry require consumers to go through a more complex sales funnel.

SEO is primarily focused on the initial awareness stage of this funnel, while email marketing is best used for the consideration stage. Both tactics overlap at the intermediate research stage, when a consumer first learns about an agency’s offerings.

When the two tactics are seamlessly combined at this crucial stage of the consumer journey, they can effectively help lead to a purchase.

Organization and Tracking Are Key

It’s important to set up email marketing and SEO campaigns effectively if you want them to work together to close sales.

Targeting action-oriented search terms can help you find consumers actively looking for your services. Including consumers in email campaigns focused on these specific search topics can help guide them toward a purchase.

Tracking is also crucial. By looking at your website and email analytics, you can see which campaigns are most effective. Then, you can concentrate your marketing strategy on the best performing tactics.

Here’s the slide deck from this webinar:

Join us for the next Masters of Marketing webinar on Thursday, May 19th at 12 p.m. CDT (1 p.m. EDT, 11 a.m. MDT, 10 a.m. PDT). If you are not currently registered for Masters of Marketing, you can do so here. You can also follow the webinar on Twitter using the hashtag #MastersMktg.


© 1983-2016, Insurance Technologies Corporation
All Rights Reserved - Terms & Privacy Policy

1415 Halsey Way, Suite 314 | Carrollton, TX 75007
Phone: (800) 383-3482